Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Training Run #5 January 23, 2008

Filed under: marathon — Erin @ 1:56 pm
Tags: ,

Air Temp: 10.5           Windchill:  -2           Distance: 4.75 miles

Well, things went much better this morning.  I know I said I was going to run on the treadmill today, but when I took Riley for her walk, it wasn’t that bad out.  It wasn’t windy.  So I decided to go ahead and run outside. 

I wore two pairs of running tights, a long sleeve technical top, a thin fleece, and my New Balance running jacket, mittens, neck gator, and hat.  It is very weird to be both hot and cold at the same time.  My core and head were toasty warm (perhaps a little too warm), but my thighs were quite cold, especially when that wind kicked in.

It was a good run, and if it was not so freaking cold out, I could have easily gone more miles, although I only needed to run 5 today. 

There seems to be a comradery in winter runners that doesn’t quite exist with summer runners.  I was more than half-way done with my run when I came across the first runner of the morning.  In the summer, people usually just run by, maybe a slight tilt of the head or a grunt to say hi.  But today, we gave each other a proper, “we’re in this together” wave.  It was pretty cool.

I got home and realized my gator had frozen sweat and snot on the outside of it and my middle layer, the thin fleece, looked like I had been out in the snow.  It’s not snowing though, that was just frozen sweat.  Nice!

Tonight we have a windchill warning in effect with windchills getting down to -25 overnight and into tomorrow.  I really do think I’ll be running in the gym tomorrow.

 

2 Responses to “Training Run #5”

  1. Dee Says:

    Speaking of your frozen gator – if it is that cold out (and I’ve only exprienced it a few times in Virginia) when the horses fart, the fart vapor freezes on their tails – frozen farts! I can’t imagine running in weather so cold. You are amazing.

    GO Erin GO

    Dee

    PS – aren’t you glad you invited me to your blog?

  2. Erin Says:

    Man, I thought frozen snot was pretty nasty, but frozen farts? That’s pretty gross. Thanks for taking my blog to that next level. 😉


Leave a Reply

