Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Running, being sick, and sleepwalking February 3, 2008

Filed under: Alan,Cook's Widow,marathon — Erin @ 4:01 pm

I did not go running this weekend on account of my being sick.  Not sure if it’s just a generic upper respiratory infection or specifically bronchitis, but something is not right with my lungs.  It is said that if your illness is in the head, like a cold, you can continue to exercise.  But, if the illness is below the neck, in your chest, you should rest.  And so, I rest. 

It kind of blows and I feel kind of guilty for not running, but I got light headed simply walking the dog, so I really don’t see how running is a good idea.

Being a chef’s widow, I am on my own to care for myself.  I don’t really want to eat anything at this point, so it’s not that big a deal that Alan is off at work.  And with me being sick, it’s not that big a deal I’ve nothing to do during the Super Bowl.  I’m not a big football fan, but it is fun once a year to watch a game and have some good wings and dip.  Alas, none of that sounds good to me.  You know what sounds good?  Taking a nap.

Speaking of sleeping. . . I’ve heard that some cook’s bring their work home with them, but it doesn’t show up until they are asleep.  I got my first taste of this last night.  Alan got home at about 2:30 last night.  We chatted for a bit and then I went back to bed at about 3:00.   At 3:30 or so, I heard the distinct sound of the iron being turned on.  I wondered why/ if Alan was ironing in the middle of the night, but quickly fell back asleep.  This morning I asked if he turned on the iron last night and he said he had a vague recollection of that, but he thought he was maybe sleepwalking.   Well that’s safe!  Ironing in your sleep!  The iron was not on this morning, and nothing appeared any smoother than last night, so who knows what that was about?  If it happens again, I’m hiding the iron at night.

 

5 Responses to “Running, being sick, and sleepwalking”

  1. Steve Says:

    Maybe you should leave out some clothes for him and see what happens. If this keeps happening it could make your life a lot easier! I wish Eric would clean or do laundry, in his sleep or awake!

  2. Cristen Says:

    That would be awesome if Alan’s sleepwalking involved nothing but doing household chores!

  3. Erin Says:

    Hmmmm. . . you two may be on to something. I’m going to have to try to tap into this potential asset.

    I’ll keep you posted on this experiment. 😉

    -e

  4. Meg Says:

    I hope that you are feeling better!!! Did you ever get my card?

    Smooches-
    Meg

  5. Alan Says:

    I vaguely recall having the need to iron my cravat for school, turning on the iron and then saying fuck it.

    Last night I dreamt about prep work and how I was never able to get to the tomatoes. Finally I woke up which ended the dream.


Leave a Reply

