Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Back in it February 11, 2008

Filed under: marathon — Erin @ 2:49 pm

After being sidelined from running for two weeks, I am finally back.  I ran 3.5 miles this morning at the fitness center at work.  It was WAY too cold to run outside this morning, well too cold for me.  I did see two people running on Michigan Avenue on my way to the fitness center.  It was about -2 out and the windchill was close to -20.  Talk about hardcore!

Anyway, the run (inside) kind of kicked my butt.  My lungs aren’t 100% clear, so there was a little coughing and shortness of breath.  To compensate, I did a run/walk routine to ease myself back into it all.  I ran for about four minutes and would walk for one to recover.  It seemed to work.  I got though the run and lived to tell the tale.  AND, most importantly, I felt good after the run.

Due to missing two long runs, I have decided to switch to Hal Higdon’s Novice I training program.  The miles are lower than the other program I was doing, so I think I should be able to get back on track this weekend.  I feel if I stuck with the Novice II program I was either going to injure myself or constantly be killing myself to get the miles in.  Hal’s Novice I got me through the Chicago Marathon in 2006, so I think I should do just fine with it this year.

 It’s good to be back!

 

4 Responses to “Back in it”

  1. Cristen Says:

    AWESOME — I love that Jon tried to get you a shot…memories.

  2. Steve Says:

    Cristen, didn’t we see your ladies out in the open that night? Good work getting back into it!

  3. Cristen Says:

    sounds about right…ahhh, memories. Austin isn’t the same without you guys

  4. Steve Says:

    How far are you from Houston. The Oas family is relocating this summer…..


Leave a Reply

