Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Week 11 – Training Run #32 – 8 miles March 26, 2008

Filed under: marathon — Erin @ 8:25 am

Riley and I were out the door just shy of 5:00 AM.  She joined me for four miles and did a great job!  She seemed to be in the mood for the run, and very much enjoyed running after some bunnies. 

I dropped her at home, where she devoured her breakfast as usual, and I headed out on my own for another four miles.  At this point, the sky was starting to lighten up at the horizon which is always a welcome development.  The weather was pretty good, it was around 40 degrees and minimal wind.  So nice!

I have realized that at eight miles, I really do need to eat before or, or at least, during my run.  In the last two miles or so this morning my legs definitely started to fatigue, and I could tell it was simply lack of food.  I burn just over 100 calories per mile when I run.  So when my legs were starting to go, I had already burned over 600 calories.  Yeah, I think I could have used some fuel.

I finished the run strongly and headed inside for a good stretch. 

I remember the last time I trained for a marathon, I thought these mid-week “kinda long runs” were so long and so much to do mid-week. This time I don’t really think too much of it.  I get up, go run, and go to work.  It’s nice to feel so strong this time!

 

2 Responses to “Week 11 – Training Run #32 – 8 miles”

  1. Lee Says:

    Hey Erin, I stumbled across your blog. I’m training for marathon #1. Congrats and good luck!!

  2. Erin Says:

    Hi, Lee! Thanks, and good luck to you. You’re going to have a blast!


Leave a Reply

