Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Week 12 – Training Run #36 – 5 miles April 3, 2008

Filed under: marathon — Erin @ 5:22 am
Tags:

About once a year, it happens.  I bite the dust.  Today was the day for me this year.  I was about a quarter of a mile into my run, running on the sidewalk (which I do usually do), when my foot caught on an uneven sidewalk tile and I bit it.  I went down, hands out, and crashed.  Luckily I did react and my hands took the worst of it.  I think I got my left knee pretty well, but it did not negatively impact my run.  Riley seemed to think, “We’re stopping?  Sweet, I can sniff this pole.”  I got up, dusted off, said ouch, and headed on our way.

Luckily the rest of the run was pretty uneventful.  We saw a bunch of bunnies again the birds are starting to chirp.   Spring is somewhere in the air, so of course they are calling for a bit of snow here in Chicago. 

Riley ran with me the whole time.  It’s the first time this year she’s gone five miles.  She did really well, and is thoroughly exhausted now.  She needs to get completely worn out from time-to-time.  It seems to do her well.

This weekend is a step-back weekend, which means a shorter run.  I am thinking of getting my twelve miles in tomorrow morning.  My aunt Patty is coming to visit and I want to be able to go out and have fun tomorrow night.  I may just do eight or ten miles.  We’ll see.  I’m not too worried about it.

It will be interesting to see how I feel tomorrow.  It’s always a day or two after a fall that you really start to hurt.

 

One Response to “Week 12 – Training Run #36 – 5 miles”

  1. Dee Says:

    Question – if no one but Riley saw you fall, did it really happen?

    OK – if Patty is coming for a visit, you have to run extra to burn off all the beer you guys will drink.

    Have fun

    Dee


Leave a Reply

