Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Week 13 – Training Run #38 – 9 miles April 8, 2008

Filed under: marathon — Erin @ 7:16 am
Tags: , , ,

OUCH!  I forgot to put BodyGlide on today and experienced some major chafing where my job bra sits against my ribcage.  Damn, that hurt when I got in the shower this morning. 

The weather was hard to judge from the inside of my apartment this morning.  I put on running tights, a short sleeved shirt, and a jacket.  Riley and I went out the door and within half-a-mile, I knew I was overdressed.  Luckily I planned on taking Riley for just a little over a mile since she ran so far yesterday. 

I went home, dropped Riley off, and changed into shorts and a long sleeved top, and forgot for a second time to put BodyGlide on.  I left and decided to head downtown as it was still pretty dark out and Inner Lakeshore/ Michigan Ave. has a lot more traffic than the neighborhoods.  I tell you, there’s nothing like running to work first thing in the morning, running home, and then having to head back to work.  I’m not complaining, but as I was walking into the building I thought, “Hey, I’ve already been here once today!”

Nine  miles.  That’s a bit of a run to do before work.  So far I’m feeling good.  I am getting hungry and thinking of making myself some oatmeal.  I can’t believe that the marathon is so close.  It is only five weeks from this Sunday.  I only really have THREE long Saturday runs left, 18 – 14 – 20.  After the 20 it is time to taper.  This is the final stretch, the most intense three weeks of the training.  I feel strong and healthy and hope that it keeps up!

Oh, I recently found out my friend Cheryl is going to do the marathon with me!  This is very exciting news.  I look forward to not having to be all by myself the night before the race, and to have someone to at least start the run with, if not run the whole thing with.  I have to say, if it wasn’t for her signing up as well, I don’t know if I’d still be training.  I had a few rough patches recently with morale and motivation, but I didn’t want to ditch her, especially since it was my idea.  So thanks, Cheryl!  You’ve kept me going and I won’t let you down.

For those of you who are curious, the big day is Sunday, May 18 in Rockford, Illinois at the Rockford Marathon.

 

Leave a Reply

