Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Week 14 – Training Run #44 – 14 miles April 19, 2008

Filed under: marathon — Erin @ 10:39 am

I think this training has finally caught up with me. Both yesterday and today, I let myself sleep in an hour, but it felt like I woke up an hour early. Only one more week of the intense mileage. I dragged my butt out of bed and went through my morning routine. I grabbed my iPod with the Nike thingy and went out the door. I was dragging! So, I did something I’ve never done before on my Saturday runs; I put on my headphones and listened to music.

That helped wake me up and get me going. It helped a LOT! It took me almost three miles to find my groove and a good candence. It usually takes me no more than a mile to get into it. I headed downtown again running down Wells instead of Michigan. When I got to the Loop, I turned left then right as I got to red lights or green lights. My ultimate destination was Roosevelt and Michigan and it didn’t really matter how I got there.

I made it to my destination and then went over to the Museum Campus to go around Soldier Field again and out onto Northerly Island. It was very pretty once again out there. There were a bunch of people out there today (okay, it was about seven, but that’s a bunch compared to the one person I saw last weekend). They all had binoculars and kept looking to the skies. Not sure what was going on, but I feel like I missed out on seeing some rare migratory bird. Who knows?

I looped around the Adler Planetarium, past the aquarium, along the lake to Randolph where I started by journey back west, back to home. No problems with my IT band, no bad aches or pains. All in all, once I got into it, it was a good run.

I got home and Alan was awake which was nice. We walked over to the grocery store with Riley to get some bacon and then came home to make an awesome breakfast. We made bacon, hashbrowns, sauteed ramps and scrambled eggs with shallots and truffle oil. It hit the spot!!!!

I have a personal training session this afternoon with my private client and then we’ll see what the evening brings me. I may meet up with friends for a few drinks; then again, I may come after the session and completely collapse on the couch, not moving until the sun shines tomorrow.

 

One Response to “Week 14 – Training Run #44 – 14 miles”

  1. Jon Says:

    I remember the last few weeks of training for the century, and I understand how you feel. You’re near your peak and it’s getting harder to get motivated to get out of bed.
    I just wish I could listen to music during rides, but I think that’s dangerous. 🙂


Leave a Reply

