Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Week 15 – Training Run #46 – 10 miles April 23, 2008

Filed under: marathon — Erin @ 8:49 am

Riley ran the first two miles with me this morning and then I was on my own for the next eight.  I shook things up a bit and went west a few blocks before heading north.  It’s amazing what changing your course can do to shake boredom with a run. 

I ran up Greenview to Addison where I cut east, ran down Inner Lakeshore to Belmont and then hopped in the running path there.  South past Diversey Harbor and past the Zoo.  I checked my mileage at the North Avenue bridge and I had exactly two miles left in my run, and by my calculation, I was just about two miles from home.  So on to home I went.  My calculation was the slightest bit off, so I had to run a block past home and then turn around to get to ten miles.  I’m anal when it comes to my miles, okay?  I’m sure some (sane) people would have just stopped at home and been happy with 9.95 miles.  But not me.  Nope.  I needed 10 full miles.  Thank god this thing is almost over with, I think I’m losing it! 

The end is near.  This was my longest mid-week run.  I run five miles tomorrow and then twenty miles on Saturday and then that’s my peak.  Then I reduce my miles and rest up for the big day.  Two more runs.  That’s what I keep telling myself.  Sure, I know I actually have 13 runs before the marathon, but it’s only 2 more until the miles reduce and I coast into the marathon. 

Two more runs.

 

Leave a Reply

