Go, Erin, go!

Working mom, wife, food-lover, ultra-runner(?). This is my life.

Week 16 – Training Run #49 – 5 miles April 30, 2008

Filed under: marathon,Riley — Erin @ 6:44 am
Tags: ,

Okay, technically I was supposed to run 8 miles this morning. I was going to, I swear. Riley and I ran 5 miles together, which is her limit. After the 5 miles, We went home to drop her off. She gets her breakfast right after our runs, so I have to go inside to feed her. I got to the top of the stairs and something felt very weird in my knee. Right then and there, I decided I wasn’t going to run any further this morning.

At this point in marathon training, you tend to get paranoid and become very careful and really listen to your body. It would suck so bad to have gotten this far and then screw up my knee trying to run three more miles. Then get side-lined and have to start all over again once the injury is healed.

So only 5 miles this morning. It was a good five miles. My legs felt great! I was worried for Riley for a while there. The bunnies seem to come out about half-an-hour before the sky gets light and we’re heading out just as the sky is getting light nowadays. Fewer bunnies are around and that is her life’s love.

When we’re running, she’ll sometimes slow because she’s getting bored, wants to sniff, is getting tired, or some other reason I can’t think of. To get her to go faster, all you have to ask is, “Riley, where’s a bunny?” and she takes off again. Now, this works, as long as in the next 10 or 20 minutes you actually see a bunny. After a while, if there are no bunnies, her heart is not in it and she thinks you’re lying. Well, just as I was really thinking the run would be a total bust for her, we saw a bunny. She stalked it and I really think if I ever let her off-leash, she could get one. In total we saw about four bunnies. Nothing compared to the 40 bunnies we’d see about a month-and-a-half ago.

Soon enough it will be bright enough out that there will be no bunnies, but there will be squirrles. She goes completely ga ga for squirrels.

 

Leave a Reply

